Archives For July 24, 2011

Borzage continues to wow me with his unique ability to infuse high melodrama with genuine heart and emotion. It is so often difficult for films to find that perfect balance. I admit, it’s a tricky thing to do. How does one portray a fantastically heightened emotional state without being either silly or shrill? The answer can be found in the beautiful frames of Borzage’s 1927 film, Seventh Heaven.

Let me just say, that if more silent films were as good as Frank Borzage’s, I’d watch a heck of a lot more of them. Seventh Heaven is a sort of perfection. Maybe not one of the very best movies I’ve ever seen, but it flows with elegance and stands tall with towering emotion and power. The Borzage method of melodrama and near-deus ex machina endings, a method that on paper sounds quite tedious, plays out effectively. So effectively I actually cried. You know, tears. The watery kind. Click to read more