Wes Anderson Goes “Full Nouvelle Vague” in the Trailer for Moonrise Kingdom

January 12, 2012 — 4 Comments

Oh my god, you guys! I fucking love Wes Anderson. I don’t give a shit about the fact that he’s super quirky, or that his style hardly changes for any of his films. I love Wes Anderson and I love his movies. Yes, all of them. Including The Life Aquatic and The Darjeeling Limited. They are all great films, and I watch them constantly. My favourite film of his is Rushmore, maybe followed by Bottle Rocket.

His last film, the stop-motion animated Fantastic Mr. Fox is as swell a movie as you’re likely to ever see. So brimming with colour and warmth and humour, it’s beautiful. But that was all the way back in 2009. Thankfully, 2012 has some new Wes Anderson for all us diehards to savour. From the looks of it, savour, we shall.

Anderson has always found as many ways as possible to reference the French New Wave, but Moonrise Kingdom appears to have taken that penchant to new heights. Have the actors speak French and I swear you could sell this as some sort of long lost Truffaut/Godard collaboration. It’s great. Reminds me of last year’s British film, Submarine, which in turn got compared to Wes Anderson’s work quite a lot.

The trailer for the film, released today, looks awesome. It appears to be the story of a quirky boy and a quirky girl who meet at a quirky summer camp populated by other quirky people. They fall in love and run off together, leaving the rest of the members of the camp to go off in search of them. At least, that’s what I gather from the trailer. It’s got lots of great actors, like Bill Murray, Ed Norton, Tilda Swinton, Frances McDormand and Bruce “Fists With Your Toes” Willis.

Go watch the trailer. Seriously. Now. Go. Apple has got it and it looks fantastic.

Did I mention I’m over-the-moon excited about this movie? Fuckin’ hell, 2012 is gonna be a good year!

4 responses to Wes Anderson Goes “Full Nouvelle Vague” in the Trailer for Moonrise Kingdom

  1. 

    I already saw and I’m so in love with it. I do see the French New Wave elements of the film. I’m very excited about it as I am going to do an Auteurs piece on Wes Anderson for next month. I just need to finish work on the current Auteurs piece I’m doing on Lars von Trier as I need to catch up on a few projects of his I haven’t seen.

  2. 

    Oh yeah. I’m as excited as you are. I just wrote a post about it in giddy anticipation in which I rank his previous six: Keeping Up With the Anderson’s.

Leave a Comment

