Archives For January 16, 2012

This weekend I was flipping through my satellite guide looking for stuff to watch. It a pastime I quite enjoy. Sometimes I enjoy it more than actually watching anything. I search through the week to find interesting shows and documentaries and movies for my DVR to record. Of course, I record so much stuff that I barely watch half of it, but sometimes I make some great discoveries. Take, for example, the best movie I ever watched on my DVR: Billy Wilder’s The Apartment. It played on The Movie Network HD, and actually looked pretty decent, but better still it instantly become one of my very favourite films of all time. We’re talking Top 5 here.

Anyway, that was a couple of years ago, and since then I’d deleted the film to make room for unwatched episodes of Fringe. But this weekend, while flipping through my guide I saw that The Apartment was set to play on MGM-HD, so I instantly set it to record. The next day I sat down to watch the film, and I was actually pretty excited. Except, this is what I saw:

Compare that shot to the one above it. In case you can’t tell the difference, I’ll help you out. The version of the film I was watching had the sides of the frame chopped off in order to fit on a 16×9 HDTV without any black bars.

It’s a fucking travesty. Click to read more.