Whither thine excitement, Spider-Man?

May 29, 2012 — 11 Comments

I don’t get it. Every image I see. Every trailer released. Every piece of information I get. I look at this new Spider-Man movie and think, “I should be so excited for this movie,” but I’m just not. It doesn’t make any sense. All signs point to it being a cool movie, and likely the best Spider-Man movie so far, and still I’m not excited. What’s happening?

I was never a fan of Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man films. I liked the first film, thought the second one was boring, and the third film is a hot mess. When Sam Raimi left development on what was then Spider-Man 4 I couldn’t have been more pleases. A script by Zodiac‘s James Vanderbilt, directed by (500) Days of Summer‘s Marc Webb, starring Never Let Me Go‘s Andrew Garfield and my Superbad crush, Emma Stone? The Amazing Spider-Man was sure to be a step in the right direction. The weird part is, judging by the trailers, I think the movie is going to deliver.

So why am I not excited?

I suspect it has something to do with the rest of the slate this Summer. While there isn’t that much I’m looking forward to, there are enough movies I’m more invested in. Brave and Prometheus and The Dark Knight Rises are the true highlights of anticipation. It doesn’t help that this Summer already had The Avengers, which, flawed as it was, certainly kicked a whole bunch of ass. Between that and Nolan’s final Batman movie, do I really have room to get excited about another superhero movie?

But that can’t be it, right? I mean, the movie still looks really good to my eyes, yet I still have to keep reminding myself that it’s coming out at all. There’s got to be something else going on here. Maybe it’s a “been there, done that” thing. Maybe I’m seeing these trailers and subconsciously thinking that I’ve seen this all before. It looks better than the original Spider-Man, maybe, but it doesn’t look different enough. The series, even in reboot form, is spinning its wheels. Does that make sense? I don’t really know.

Honestly though. I watch this trailer and I get pumped. And then 30 seconds after it’s done I pretty much forget I ever saw it. Check it out for yourself, and let me know if you’re excited for The Amazing Spider-Man, or if you’re in the same precarious position as me:

11 responses to Whither thine excitement, Spider-Man?

  1. 

    I feel the same way. When I saw the trailer at the theater, I was impressed by the bright use of color ( the other Spiderman films were kind of dull in that area) but I keep forgetting about this film whenever I list all the films I’m looking forward to this summer.

    • 

      I know! I’ve listed my most anticipated films of the summer a bunch of times in conversation and I’ve forgotten The Amazing Spider-Man every time. And then when I do remember I always feel like it should have been on there since it actually looks good.

  2. 

    I agree it’s not a film I’m as eager to check out as those you mentioned. It’s got all the right talent and people, I think the problem might be that the film just looks too dark for what I think of when I conjure up Spider-Man. I think of bad one-liners and a fun, campy feel tied up inside a dramatic, teenage angst story. The edgy vibe could work, I’m still going to check it out opening weekend, but I’m approaching with a reserved curiosity.

    • 

      I’m curious about the edgy vibe. The trailers are a little difficult to gauge, but it seems like Webb is going for a mix. He’s trying to take the story with a little more seriousness and grit than the Raimi films, but also injecting more of the dickish one-liners and teenagery than Raimi ever did. That could end up being really good.

  3. 

    My feeling about all of the things involving the new Spider-Man is like… eh…

    I’m just not excited about it at all because I feel like it doesn’t really bring anything new that is expected. I just keep thinking of those Sam Raimi film versions of Spider-Man which is still fresh in my mind, though I wish I got the $7 of the $9 back for Spider-Man 3. The other $2 was for that Bruce Campbell cameo that I loved.

  4. 

    I don’t really see the need for another retelling of the story we all got told under a decade ago. Wait for one or two more sequels to this one, then what? Another origin story? Who cares at that point? Batman will be the same. After Nolan is done with it, I don’t want to see another movie detailing how Wayne’s parents got killed, then he dedicated himself to….blah blah I already know that. Let’s make a Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns kind of flick, if any at all.

    • 

      I keep hearing that this new Spider-Man is another origin story, but in all the trailers there’s no sense of it being an origin. Looks more like he’s just back in high school. And even if it is an origin, it seems as though the origin is the least of the film’s concerns. Probably just a way to setup the new universe at the start and then take off in a different direction, with a new villain and some mystery involving the fate of Peter Parker’s parents. It could be really interesting, but yeah, there’s still a weird feeling of “been there, done that.”

  5. 

    For me personally, why I’m not excited about seeing this movie is because it’s a retelling of spider-man’s origin. Which is much too soon and unnecessary. Been there, done that. Spider-man has so many stories, why do another origin story and why so soon? That’s my problem. The first 3 spider-man movies are still fresh in people’s minds. And I suspect that’s the problem with the majority of fans. Now, I’m a huge Spider-man fan, more so than Avengers, Batman, etc.. But, I’m not excited for this movie like I was for the others. Now I know changing directors and recasting Peter Parker are issues with many fans as well. But honestly, I think even if with a new director and new Peter Parker, if the story just continued where Spider-Man 3 left off, instead of redoing an origin story, fans would be more excited. Looking at the trailer, honestly I can’t see why the story of Parker’s parents and his nemesis the Lazard couldn’t simply have been a continuation of Spider-Man 3? Spider-Man 2 and 3 set up the Lazard character perfectly. There was no need for a reboot. Venom is still alive (supposedly), which is perfect for the 5th spidey movie. Again, no need for a reboot. If the filmmakers want to remind fans of spidey’s origins, do it in quick flashbacks instead and keep the story moving. In short, it’s the reboot…origin element that’s killing the excitment of The Amazing Spider-Man. We’ve been there…done that.

    • 

      A reboot was really the only way forward considering the entire cast left along with Raimi. And Sony couldn’t wait very long to reboot because they needed a movie in production in order to maintain the Spider-Man rights. You’re right that the movie didn’t need to do a full new origin story, but I wonder how much of the film will actually be origin. Judging from the trailers, for most of the movie Parker is already very comfortable with his powers, and Gwen Stacey even knows he’s Spider-Man. It’s possible that the origin element of the film is actually quite small and is really only there to set up a new version of the character and then move on to new stories.

Leave a Comment

