100 Posts is Only the Beginning!

November 17, 2011 — 9 Comments

This is it. My 100th post. It’s a special occasion, sort of, but not really, but kind of, so I’m doing a meta post about it. What am I using this post for? It’s really just a marker. A signpost on the road. Why am I marking it? Why not? I started this blog on June 27th. It was meant as a way of freeing myself from the obligation of a more “professional” site. I think I’ve succeeded with that. I don’t feel tied down by this blog. It’s a place for me to express myself in writing, and it has allowed me to be less self-conscious about what is expected of my writing. I write just to write. Kind of like this post. If I feel I have something to say, I’ll say it. If I don’t get worked up about what I’m saying I’ll just keep silent. Then again, I’m writing this post and I have nothing to say. You’re probably wasting your time reading this. My ramblings are basically useless anyway. Come back when I have something more interesting to say. Maybe in post #101.

Until then, take care!

Corey Atad

Oh, wait, no! Stop! Before you go, I’m going to pull a Ryan McNeil and ask you for a favour. If you’re a follower of my writing, maybe you have some opinions on it. What kind of posts do you like best? Do you have any topics you’d like me to write about? Maybe some new feature posts? Maybe some advice about the look of the blog? Leave a comment below and let me know what you’re thinking.

9 responses to 100 Posts is Only the Beginning!

  1. 

    Hey there! Congratulations! We’re like twins, aren’t we?

    I love what you’re doing and I love that you unlike many other film bloggers don’t just write reviews. You have a nice mix with a healthy amount of general musings/editorials.

    Just keep up the good work!

    As of looks: well don’t worry too much about it. Content is always what matters. The less complicated, the better imo.

    Cheers!

  2. 

    Sigh, so uncreative, Corey. Meta is the new norm. Subvert expectations! Be audacious! Make you 100th post a sweeping, linear epic! No one would expect that!

    I like your opinion pieces the most. You’re really good at being opinionated (and also very wrong, IMHO) and those tend to be your most entertaining and engaging posts.

    And whatever you do, don’t start a podcast.

  3. 

    Congrats! This is my first time visiting so I don’t have any suggestions

  4. 

    Geez everyone seems to be taking stock in what they do this week. I feel like I missed the memo 🙂

    Seriously though, Congrats on hitting the 100 mark!

    I also like your sites mix of opinions (I need to do more of this) and reviews (especially of films I have never heard of). My only real suggestion is to have a review archive page where I can easily locate a particular title. I know you have the categories section on the side, but that does not help if say I am looking for your thoughts on a specific Godard film, etc.

    Keep up the good work!

    • 

      Honestly, I don’t really feel like creating a section organizing my reviews simply because I don’t write many. I had my Potter ones and my TIFF ones, and the rest of them are part of my Marathon. Which reminds me, I should update the links in the Marathon page.

      Thanks, Courtney!

  5. 

    Congrats on 100 posts! I’m just beyond that and I started back in March, so you’re definitely prolific.

    In terms of suggestions, I’m drawn to blogs that offer a variety of posts (reviews, opinion pieces, essays on tangents), and you’re definitely in that zone. The main thing is offering interesting content and bringing an authentic point of view, even if it’s not always popular. I think you do this already, so I’d say to just keep pushing yourself and follow the current trend.

  6. 

    The only thing I ask is that you keep it up. Your reviews are always informative and enthusiastic. I love reading them.

Leave a Comment

