Attack the Blog: The Best Links for the Week of 2/2/2012

February 2, 2012 — 9 Comments

Last week I completely forgot about this column. Well… Not completely. I remembered it at the last minute when I had to leave the house soon. Oops. Too late. The column didn’t happen, and I’ve felt pretty bad about it all week. Well! Here I am to correct my mistake. I’ve got a new ‘Attack the Blog’ which essentially covers two weeks of collected blog links. So, here goes!

Emil at A Swede Talks Movies wrote a really excellent piece about how he fell in love with movies.

My good friend Steve Kimes at Just Another Movie Blog has a great review of War Horse that also acts as an article about war movies in general.

The Film Doctor has got a piece about The Artist’s failure to transcend into true greatness.

Nick at Cinema Romantico watched Submarine, one of my favourite films from last year.

Oscar season is upon us and Nick has an interview over at Anomalous Material discussing the Oscar Nominees.

A number of bloggers around town have decided to take part in a Blind Spots series. Every month they take a look at some big film they still haven’t seen. My friend Danielle watched Die Hard for the first time. Now, unfortunately she didn’t like it, so I’m calling on you all to go over to her blog and tell her why she’s wrong.

Big Thoughts from a Small Mind has a piece about the 80s classic, Stand By Me. It made me want to re-watch the movie immediately.

Max at Impassioned Cinema wrote a nice little article about the awesomeness that is Christopher Nolan.

Jessica from The Velvet Cafe, my favourite person ever, wrote a review of the problematic Sin City. Not only is it a good review, but the discussion in the comments is equally great.

Finally, Andrew at Encore’s World of Film & TV has a piece covering the nominees for this year’s Oscar for Best Visual Effects.

Until next week (so long as I don’t forget),

Cheers!

9 responses to Attack the Blog: The Best Links for the Week of 2/2/2012

  1. 

    What a lovely bunch of links! You’ve certainly saved up! And thank you for the kind words Corey. You’re my favorite hamster too. But you know that already.

  2. 

    It’s always a thrill and an honor to be featured in one of these posts. Thank you very much, Corey. I’m glad you enjoyed my post.

  3. 

    Never visited before, but thanks for checking out my blog. I’ll have to stop by again.

  4. 

    Hey, man, thanks for the links! I really appreciate it!

  5. 

    Thanks for the linkage, Corey. Much appreciated.

    On an unrelated note, have you signed up for Letterboxd yet? If so, how is it? I tried to see what all the fuss was about but it apparently I need a beta code or something.

Leave a Comment

