Dear Readers, A Little Help?

June 5, 2012 — 10 Comments

Alright, I’m putting some questions out to you, my readers. I need some help. I’d like to to have my site updated with new content every day (potentially including weekends), but for that to happen I’d like to gauge what sort of content you all would like to see.

As it stands now I pretty much write what I want, when I want. Usually I write opinion pieces about film, but recently I’ve written some opinion-style reviews of TV episodes. I generally don’t write reviews of films, though I’ve occasionally written essay-style reviews. The biggest problem is the large gaps that often occur between posts.

So I’ve got a few questions for you. I’m going to put in a couple polls to get a specific sense of a couple things, then I’ll follow up with a few general questions that you can respond to in the comments.

Here come the polls:

Alright, now that we have those out of the way, I’d like to get your general thoughts on type of content. What kind of things would you like to see on my blog? I’m open to any and all suggestions. Are regular polls or games a good idea? Would you like to see the return of lists or similar posts, like the Essentials series? Would a series about Criterion Collection films be of interest? I’m just spit-balling here, but I’m sure you guys have plenty of great ideas. Also, be aware that if I’m going to try for content every day, not all the content can be elaborate, lengthy posts. Ideas for quick entries on weekends would be welcome.

So have at it! Give me some feedback and ideas in the comments.

Oh, and thanks for your help.

10 responses to Dear Readers, A Little Help?

  1. 

    I’d love to see you review more classic films, like Criterion Collection films.

    • 

      That could definitely be a way I end up going. Reviewing the occasional movie, but whenever I watch a Criterion Blu-ray I can write about that. Hopefully I’ll get to watch Fanny and Alexander soon, so there might be a review of that coming up.

      Thanks, Steve!

  2. 

    Games are always fun, especially where people have to guess things. The only thing I can think of off the top of my head for quick weekend posts would be something like updating people on what you’re watching over the weekend, and asking readers what they’re watching. That may not be very interesting, but…there you have it.

  3. 

    Reviews! EVERY DAY! Of movies. Forget that TV bull.

  4. 

    Going from “whenever I feel like it” to “every day” is a big jump. Going to a Mon-Wed-Fri or Mon-Fri (the point being a schedule, but not 5/7 days a week) format might be safer, at least until you’re sure you want to be on a schedule. The benefit of a frequent schedule is that there’s never a feeling of needing to delay, but then if you hold yourself to it, it can be unfun trying to work up a post the day before if your muse has wandered off.

    • 

      Yeah, at this point I don’t want to commit to literally every day, but I’d like to have a wider range of content, which would make it easier to post more often and every day if possible.

Leave a Comment

