My Week in Staring at Screens: 06/17/12

June 17, 2012 — 2 Comments

This week was another slow one in terms of movie-watching. I was quite busy a lot of the time, and there were still guests from out-of-town, so there wasn’t much chance to put on anything I had any serious interest in.

I did start watching a new (to me) TV series. To anyone who hasn’t seen it, I can highly recommend the British series, Misfits. It’s about five young people serving a community service sentence who get superpowers after being caught in a crazy storm. The show is funny and dramatic and all kinds of weird. Anyway, enough about TV and on to the movies!

The Movies

The Prestige (Blu-ray) – I just can’t get enough of this movie. My favourite Christopher Nolan film and one of my favourite films of all time, easily.

Brave (Cinema) – You can read my mostly glowing review here. I’ll add that I saw it in 3D, and while the 3D itself seemed superfluous at best, the real problem is that most of the movie takes place at night and, if you are unlucky like me, a dim projector will make it very difficult to see the detail in a lot of scenes. So, unless 3D is the only option, seeing it in 2D is probably your best bet.

The Departed (Blu-ray) – Another re-watch, but still a pretty remarkable film. Probably didn’t deserve to win Best Picture, but every time I watch it I can’t think of any good reason why it wasn’t worthy. It’s expert filmmaking and, in my opinion, greatly improves on the decent but ultimately cheesy Hong Kong original.

Frankenstein (Cinema) – Not actually a movie, but a play. This is the Danny Boyle-directed play from last year, featuring Johnny Lee Miller as Dr. Frankenstein and Benedict Cumberbatch as the creature. It was my first time going to one of these big-screen presentations of a play and I enjoyed it a lot. I’ll be going this coming week to see the second presentation in when the two lead actors switch roles, and I’ll likely write up a review of the show with come comparison between the two versions.

Anyway, that’s really all I saw this week. What have you been watching?

2 responses to My Week in Staring at Screens: 06/17/12

  1. 

    I’m wondering if I should rewatch The Departed. I loved it when I first saw it, but I have a feeling I might be let down on another viewing.

    • 

      If you loved it when you first saw it you will continue to love it even re-watching it. It’s a great script, a great adaptation of a great story, and the Scorsese style is balls-to-the-walls.

Leave a Comment

