My Week in Staring at Screens: 07/01/12

July 1, 2012 — 2 Comments

After a week of watching a lot of movies, this week was much more subdued. I’d say it was due to watching lots of TV or reading, but the truth is I watched less TV than usual and didn’t read a single page from any book. I listened to a lot of podcasts, though, and even recorded two podcasts, one of which will be the start of something new for this site.

20120701-180039.jpg

As for the movies I watched, well, I didn’t expose myself to much, but the majority were masterpieces. I hope I’ll get to see more movies in the next week. Already on the docket is the Blu-ray of A Streetcar Named Desire and Lifeboat. Hopefully I’ll squeeze in at least a fee more than that. Either way, read on the check out what I saw this week.

Fanny and Alexander (Blu-ray) – It took some scheduling, but I finally got around to watching Fanny and Alexander in it’s original TV form. That’s over five hours of Bergman. An epic undertaking, but a marvellous, nuanced, brilliant film I have no trouble calling a masterpiece. I’m still trying to write out my thoughts on the film, but the movie feels too big to put into words. Hopefully I can get something posted this week, if ever.

The Amazing Spider-Man (Cinema) – I’ve already written about this here. I’ll add to my thoughts in a podcast to be posted on Tuesday. For now I’ll just say that the more I think about it the more I’m annoyed that this film was not as good as it so obviously could have been had the makers not decided to retell the same origin story we saw ten years ago. Oh well.

Jaws (Cinema) – Well, there’s one more absolute classic I can scratch off my “see on the big screen” wish list. Jaws is a film I hadn’t seen in years. At least since I got Blu-ray back in 2007. I remembered it being brilliant, but seeing it again, on the big screen and having gone through an immaculate restoration, it’s so clearly one of the greatest pieces of cinema ever crafted. Ever piece fits. The ups and downs are amazing. The visuals are epic and precise. Several sequences are startling in their assured direction, particularly the second shark attack. Frankly, even the shark is shot so well it actually looks convincingly scary. Probably better than any CGI shark ever could have been. Plus, seeing it on the big screen really helped sell how big the scope of the film is in style despite being a relatively small and simple story. It also has some of the most natural and human moments ever in a Spielberg film. I could go on and on. If you have the chance to see it on the big screen, do it. If not, don’t hesitate to buy the upcoming Blu-ray, which will look fantastic.

So that’s what I’ve watched this week. Not much, but some good stuff. Let me know what you’ve been watching in the comments.

2 responses to My Week in Staring at Screens: 07/01/12

  1. 

    Cool that you’ll be watching the Blu-rays of Streetcar and Lifeboat. I think the biggest reason I want a Blu-ray player is to watch classic films like that.

Leave a Comment

