My Week in Staring at Screens: 07/08/12

July 8, 2012 — 2 Comments

Oh my. Another week of reduced movie-watching. I don’t know what’s been going on. I mean, I guess I’m a bit busier than usual lately, but I think I’ve just not been feelin’ it. I get home and I don’t have the urge to put on a movie. I haven’t even started a new TV series. This happens sometimes. I’m not someone who has some natural inclination toward watching movies at every chance I get. I put them on when I’m in the mood. What the mood is, I have no clue.

I did watch a few movies this week, though, almost all at the cinema. There’s one I saw that I cannot talk about, though I will say that I loved it and I can’t wait for it to be released later this year. Teehee, look at me, teasing. I didn’t get to most of the classics on Blu-ray I was hoping to watch, but I’m hoping that I will in the next few weeks. I also didn’t end up writing a review of Fanny and Alexander, mostly because that film is so expansive and so amazing that I really feel like I have nothing constructive to say that the film doesn’t already say on its own, so if you haven’t seen it, please, go watch it as soon as possible. Finally, looking ahead to the next week, I have a few things planned for the blog, and then next Sunday the new season of Breaking Bad begins, which will also bring about my weekly recaps for the show. Anyway, enough of that talk, on with the list!

Ted (Cinema) – I do not like Family Guy. I don’t like any of Seth MacFarlane’s shows. When Family Guy was first on the air, before it got canceled, I did find it quite funny, but even then, not always. All that said, I do really like Seth MacFarlane, the man. I’ve seen and heard him in various interviews and the man is a wealth of knowledge and great understanding of comedy. I have no idea why he can’t translate that into something good with his TV shows, but with his first feature, Ted, he actually pulled it off. Ted is a hilarious movie. I laughed a whole bunch, I got caught up in the story, I loved the relationship between Marky Mark and the teddy bear, I loved Mila Kunis. Really, the film surprised me. Good stuff.

Magic Mike (Cinema) – Another movie that really surprised me. Sure, it’s got all that gratuitous stuff for fans of Channing Tatum’s hot bod, but there’s more to what Soderbergh is doing. It’s a film about ambitions and money and getting ahead in America. No, seriously, it’s about those things. It’s also quite funny and dark and even the atrocious Cody Horn couldn’t sink things.

A Streetcar Named Desire (Blu-ray) – I’d never seen it before, and I’m so glad I finally did. A really great, dark film. Also, this is another case, as with James Dean in Rebel Without a Cause, where having one actor doing “method” makes them seem a million times better than many of the other great performers in the film. Brando is fantastic. Young and handsome and funny, and he makes a great foil for Vivian Leigh.

To Rome With Love (Cinema) – Woody Allen is back after his huge success with Midnight in Paris. This outing is nowhere near as strong. In fact, it’s kind of all over the place. It follows a few different stories, all of which have their weak spots. A few are miscast, particularly the baffling casting of Ellen Page as an alluring sexpot. But through it all, Allen manages to make each story work at various points. I was pretty consistently entertained, and I even laughed quite a bit. That said, I don’t think I enjoyed it quite as much as the rest of the audience, average age: 65. They were laughing the second they saw Woody on screen. Literally. Before he’d even said or done anything. He appears, and they laugh, like some Pavlovian response. It actually kind of made the movie that much more enjoyable. It’s always nice to have a good crowd, even when they’re all at least forty years my senior.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve watched the week. How about you all? Seen anything good? Let me know in the comments.

2 responses to My Week in Staring at Screens: 07/08/12

  1. 

    Hey, that’s powfreul. Thanks for the news.

  2. 

    I’m so glad that the internet allows free info like this!

Leave a Comment

