My Week in Staring at Screens: 7/22/12

July 22, 2012 — 12 Comments

It’s been a Batman kind of a week. It’s also been a pretty crazy few days at this blog. My post about angry Batman commenters was featured in the Freshly Pressed section of the WordPress.com front page. I’ve gotten a lot of views from this. Like, an abnormally high number. Basically, in the last 48 hours I’ve gotten more hits than any previous single month. I’ll try not to let it go to my head, but for now I’d like to say thank you to all the people who have been reading my piece and some of the other pieces I’ve written. I’d also like to thank and welcome those who intend to stick around. Hopefully I can continue delivering content worthy of your readership.

As for what I’ve been watching this week? Well. Not much. Not much at all. It’s mostly Batman’s fault.

Take This Waltz (Cinema) – Sarah Polley’s new film, which I attempted to write a review of and failed, is as beautiful and affecting as it is complex and deep. It’s about a woman being tempted away from her marriage, and the film’s approach to the subject is anything but normal. There’s a realism of emotion, and the characters often do things that are maddeningly stupid because that’s what people often do. It’s also got an amazing lead performance by Michelle Williams, as well as a truly great supporting turn by Seth Rogen as her husband. I don’t think everyone will take to the film like I did, but I really loved it.

The Bourne Legacy (Cinema) – I don’t want to say much about this film since I’ll be posting a review of it sometime in the next week or two, but I will say for now that the film doesn’t live up to the series it continues.

The Dark Knight Rises (Cinema x 3)  – BATMAN! Yeah, that’s right, I saw the movie three times. It’s real good. Real damn good! I saw it twice in IMAX, which was amazing, and then again in 35mm at a smaller theatre, which, while not as amazing an experience, did give the story a bit more room to speak for itself, and to my mind it holds up beautifully. I don’t want to write a review of the film because I don’t feel I can do it justice at this point, but I might try my hand later on. That said, today I’ll be recording the second episode of my new podcast, The justAtadcast, and I’ll be discussing the film in-depth with a couple great guests, so look forward to that dropping on Monday or Tuesday.

Anyway, that was my week in screens. How was yours?

12 responses to My Week in Staring at Screens: 7/22/12

  1. 

    Ken Burns’ Prohibition…I know, I know, it’s not *in* the cinema. But…it’s pretty good so far!

  2. 

    The Dark Knight Rises twice in digital IMAX. Caps one of the greatest trilogies of all time. How high is it on the list? At least in the top five. The genre will never be the same after this trilogy.

    Eagerly await your review, Corey.

  3. 

    Funny enough, I also saw both Batman and Take This Waltz this week, however our opinions on the latter of the two do seem to vastly differ as I thought the cast was just about the only redeeming thing that film had to offer.

    • 

      I’ve seen that a lot of people really didn’t go for Take This Waltz. Not sure what to say except that I was really very taken by it.

      • 

        The writing just didn’t work for me even a little bit, the movie seemed to have a big problem about having completely unrealistic dialogue and character and trying to have a realistic style to everything. It all felt kind of jarring to me, I didn’t care for it.

      • 

        Thanks for the tip Corey. It sounds just my ‘cup of tea’ as we Brits say! I am so glad Freshly pressed chose your piece so I could find your blog.

  4. 

    Congrats on getting featured as “Freshly Pressed”! I had a feeling that’s what happened when I saw you had like 14219742 likes (approximately) on that article.

    I had a boring week other than the midnight showing of TDKR. Hope to see it again very soon on IMAX. I’m curious to see if the films faults bother me more a second time through or if I’m even more forgiving of them.

    • 

      Thanks! It’s been pretty crazy. What’s even more nuts is that since then, a second post of mine has been Freshly Pressed. I’m beyond honoured. Mostly, though, I’m enjoying all the comments. Great to hear from so many readers.

      As for The Dark Knight Rises, I think that in a way the second viewing helped the film in my estimation. The problems with the film became a bit more clear, but they also seemed less glaring in the face of how well the film works overall.

Leave a Comment

